Toyota Safety Sense: How It Works and What Models

January 10th, 2022 by

Toyota Safety Sense

The roads can be unpredictable. Nearly everyone knows someone who has been in a collision, or they have personally experienced one. One report found that over 75% of drivers have been involved in a car crash. 

Unfortunately, these crashes occur in the millions in the United States. The Association for Safe International Road Travel reports that more than 38,000 people die every year in crashes, and an additional 4.4 million are injured enough to require medical attention. 

With numbers like this, automotive leaders like Toyota have made it their mission to prevent these tragedies. Toyota is working to address road safety by creating advanced technologies that give motorists a helping hand when they need it. By doing so, they aim to shape a future that is road-fatality-free. 


What is Toyota Safety Sense (TSS)?

Toyota Safety Sense is a suite of technologies designed to protect you and your passengers. The TSS system uses a high-resolution camera and millimeter-wave radar to address and prevent the three most common accident types: forward collision, nighttime accidents, and unintended lane departures. Together, the camera and radar work to create 6 advanced features that give drivers better oversight and control:


Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection and Bicyclist Detection

One way the TSS works toward preventing road fatalities is through its Pre-Collision System (PCS). Things can happen unexpectedly, which is why PCS provides audio and video alerts if it detects a hazard. If the driver doesn’t react, it can also gently apply to brakes to prevent an accident or reduce damage caused by collisions. 

The TSS 2.5 and 2.5+ take this feature a step further by adding two additional functionalities: intersection support and emergency steering assist. At intersections, the system can detect oncoming vehicles or pedestrians when making a turn. Meanwhile, emergency steering assist can help stabilize the vehicle if the driver initiates an emergency maneuver around an obstacle in their lane. 


Dynamic Radar Cruise Control

On long stretches of road, let your Toyota take the wheel. Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) uses a radar and camera mounted on the windshield to monitor and adjust your vehicle’s speed. Additionally, the DRCC keeps your car at a preset distance from the vehicle ahead.

For TSS 2.5+, DRCC adds on curve speed management, which uses the vehicle’s camera to detect curves, reduce speed while turning, and return back to the set speed. Select models (like the 2022 Corolla Cross) feature Full-Speed Range DRCC, which enables low-speed following and stopping – perfect for urban commuters during traffic. 


Lane Departure Alert with Steering Assist

Features like Lane Departure Alert not only help the driver but every motorist on the road. When detecting white or yellow lane markings, Lane Departure Alert uses audio and visual warnings to notify the driver of unintended drifting. It can also provide gentle corrective steering if corrective action is required. 


Automatic High Beams

Despite 60 percent less traffic at night, more than 40 percent of road fatalities happen at night. Poor visibility can pose a huge threat on the road. With the TSS Automatic High Beam, drivers can see more clearly at night, without blinding other drivers. The ABH system can detect headlights and taillights of other vehicles, then automatically toggle between high and low beams. 


Lane Tracing Assist

Similar to Lane Departure Alert, Lane Tracing Assist is designed to keep the vehicle centered in its visibly marked  lane and avoid unintended lane departures. The difference is Lane Tracing Assist operators automatically when Dynamic Radar Cruise Control is active. 


Road Sign Assist

An extra pair of eyes is always helpful. Using a forward-facing intelligent camera, Road Sign Assist can detect speed limit signs, stop signs, and more. It then displays them on the dashboard to provide drivers with additional awareness. In some cases, the system can also provide alerts if the speed exceeds the posted limit, or a stop sign is ignored. 


What models have Toyota Safety Sense? 

Toyota’s philosophy is built on bringing value to everyday customers. Because of this, the TSS is available on 23 models, including best-sellers like the Corolla, RAV4, and the all-new 2022 Tundra. To see a complete list of models, visit Toyota’s website. 


Compare TSS 2.0 vs. TSS 2.5 vs. TSS 2.5+

Toyota Safety Sense first debuted in 2015 and has gone through many changes since its initial launch. For model year 2019, the TSS 2.0 was introduced with enhanced detection features. The latest TSS 2.5 and 2.5+, available on models like the 2021 Toyota Camry and 2021 Toyota Highlander, builds on the previous suite by enhancing the functionality of its six features. 

Want to see Toyota Safety Sense in action? We invite you to take a test drive on any of our new Toyota models. For all additional questions, please contact us here. You can also follow us on Facebook or Instagram to stay updated on the latest Toyota news. 

Posted in Safety